Eltham Primary School

Respect, Excellence, Compassion & Lifelong Learning

Curriculum Areas

E-mail Print PDF

Teaching & Learning

At Eltham Primary school we follow AusVels, as our guide to the curriculum. These standards describe what is essential to achieve in Prep to Year 10 in Victorian schools. All the standards are designed to engage students, build their confidence, offer varied approaches to learning and challenge them to achieve.

Enhancing our classroom program is a commitment to providing dedicated time to specialist areas of the curriculum. These include Visual Arts, Performing Arts, Physical Education & Sport, Indonesian, Science and access to the Learning Resource Centre.

Assessment & Reporting

Assessment is an integral part of teaching and learning. These are many ways that teachers use assessment to inform their planning, move students through developmental stages and ascertain student achievement. A variety of assessment tools are used including tests, observation, portfolio tasks and self evaluation.

Each year families receive two written reports indicating academic and progress of their child. They receive these reports at the end of term two and four. Families are given the opportunity to attend a formal parent-teacher interview at the end of Term two. At the beginning of each year families are also given an opportunity to meet with their new class teacher at Initial Interviews.

AusVels:     http://ausvels.vcaa.vic.edu.au/  

The Domains

  • Physical, Personal and Social Learning
  • Civics and Citizenship
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Learning
  • Discipline-based Learning
  • The Arts
  • English
  • The Humanities
  • The Humanities - Economics
  • The Humanities - Geography
  • The Humanities - History
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Interdisciplinary Learning
  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Thinking Processes